Silverstone and Donington results finalised following National Court ruling

Silverstone and Donington results finalised following National Court ruling

Results of the Intelligent Money British GT Championship’s races at Silverstone and Donington Park are now final following the outcome of a National Court Investigatory Hearing.

An appeal was submitted by Raceway Motorsport and accepted by Motorsport UK as an Investigatory Hearing following the disqualification of its #56 Ginetta at Silverstone on May 7. This prevented series organisers, SRO Motorsports Group, from distributing GT4 points scored at Rounds 3 and 4 as well as allocating the class’ Pitstop Compensation Time that should have been served at Donington Park on May 28. 

Today (June 9) the National Court rejected Raceway’s appeal. As such:

The provisional Silverstone GT4 result has been finalised without change and associated points officially allocated. Optimum Motorsport’s Charles Clark and Jack Brown scored their first victory of the season from One Motorsport’s Ed McDermott and Mikey Broadhurst, and Academy Motorsport’s Erik Evans and Matt Cowley. Raceway’s #56 Ginetta remains disqualified after failing to heed a black flag.

20, 15 and 10 seconds of unserved Compensation Time has now been added to the elapsed Donington race times of Silverstone’s overall top-three finishers. This moves Clark/Brown from first to second behind new winners Ian Gough and Tom Wrigley (RACE LAB). Evans/Cowley remain sixth while McDermott/Broadhurst drop from seventh to eighth. 

Clark and Brown now lead the GT4 standings by 26 points from Gough and Wrigley, while Cowley and Evans are a further four back in third.

Silverstone’s GT3 result was not subject to the Investigatory Hearing’s outcome and had already been used to calculate championship points as well as Compensation Time, which was served as intended during Donington Park’s pitstop.

Donington’s GT3 and GT4 top-three will now receive Compensation Time in the order of 10, seven and five seconds during the first of Snetterton’s two 60-minute races, which takes place on June 18.