Harper adds Allan Simonsen Award to title success as champions crowned in London

Harper adds Allan Simonsen Award to title success as champions crowned in London

+ Old Billingsgate plays host to SRO’s global prize-giving gala
+ SRO Awards gallery

The stars of SRO Motorsports Group’s domestic, continental and world series descended on Old Billingsgate this evening for the promoter’s annual end-of-season awards ceremony.

Among champions of the Fanatec GT World Challenge Powered by AWS European and Asian series were an Intelligent Money British GT Championship contingent that covered every overall and class title winner, as well as the majority of those who finished second and third overall.

Dan Harper collected his championship winner’s trophy alongside Century Motorsport co-driver Darren Leung but also joined an esteemed list of Allan Simonsen Award recipients. Announced on the night, this trophy is traditionally won by a driver embodying the same speed and spirit that epitomised series great Simonsen, who tragically lost his life at the Le Mans 24 Hours in 2013.

The recipient also tends to be considered British GT’s driver of the season.

Although already a BMW factory driver, Harper truly arrived in 2023 thanks to a string of incredible performances and breath-taking overtaking manoeuvres that culminated in a title-winning stint for the ages at Donington in October.

He and Charles Clark (GT4) were also named this year’s Sunoco Fastest Drivers. Harper set two across seven weekends, while Clark pipped Matt Cowley thanks to his third FL of the season at the finale.

The GT4 title rivals were also on hand to collect their championship trophies. Erik Evans flew in from America to receive his overall honours alongside Academy co-driver Cowley, while Clark and Jack Brown (Optimum Motorsport) picked up the Silver class spoils.

GT4’s ensemble also included Pro-Am champions Michael Johnston and Chris Salkeld (Century) whose guest list featured sponsor, long-time friend and celebrity chef Ainsley Harriott.

Elsewhere, 2 Seas’ Nick Cristofaro and Century’s Clive Freke collected their respective GT3 and GT4 teams’ trophies, while Mark Sansom and Will Tregurtha (Barwell Motorsport) were officially crowned GT3 Silver-Am champions.

There was also a special one-off award to mark 20 years of SRO's British GT tenure. The evening's host, David Addison, was blindsided somewhat by his Fanatec GT Europe co-commentator John Watson who presented 'Adders' with a trophy in recognition of his work with the championship. It includes covering British GT's very-first race, albeit under the BRDC's organisation, at Donington in 1993.

Allan Simonsen Award winners:
2023: Dan Harper
2022: Sennan Fielding
2021: Dennis Lind
2020: Sandy Mitchell
2019: Jonny Adam 
2018: Nicki Thiim 
2017: Joe Osborne 
2016: Phil Keen
2015: Alexander Sims
2014: Jonny Adam
2013: Nick Tandy